Action Alert: Stop Legislators From Giving Oil Companies Eminent Domain

Science Dies, Fossil Fuel Interest Rise.

Tell members to remove a handout to oil pipeline industry

By Matthew Starr, Upper Neuse Riverkeeper

The North Carolina legislature is back in Raleigh today for the first of (3) of scheduled “special sessions”. Today, they are likely to bring up their annual “pollute the environment” legislation that they pass under the cloak of “Regulation Reform”. One of the many things I will be working on today is to stop a handout to the oil pipeline industry.

Senate Bill 16, one of the many “regulatory reform” bills that members will be discussing today contains a small section that deletes just four words from an existing North Carolina law, “originating in North Carolina”. Deleting these four words will give oil pipelines eminent domain authority in our state for pipelines that originate outside of North Carolina.

This is important for a couple of reasons:

  1. Oil pipelines are almost exclusively state regulated, unlike gas pipelines, which will make the likelihood of an oil pipeline coming to North Carolina and impacting our water supplies much greater.
  2. This is just another example, like the Atlantic Coast Pipeline, where big industry’s profits come before citizen property rights.

Call the below Legislators Today!

This bill will move very fast, so please consider calling ASAP. Please call and email members of the conference committee (below) today and ask them to remove Section 13 in Senate Bill 16 from consideration in the Regulation Reform Bill.  North Carolina can not afford to add to the growing list of threats to our rivers and critical water supplies. Tell them that you do not want to see an oil pipeline in North Carolina.

Representative David R. Lewis
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

Representative Chris Millis
919-715-9664
Chris.Millis@ncleg.net

Representative Chuck McGrady
919-733-5956
Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net

Representative Donny Lambeth
919-733-5747
Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net

Representative Dean Arp
919-715-3007
Dean.Arp@ncleg.net

Representative John R. Bell, IV
919-715-3017
John.Bell@ncleg.net

Senator Trudy Wade
(919) 733-5856
Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

Senator Andy Wells
(919) 733-5876
Andy.Wells@ncleg.net

Senator Bill Rabon
(919) 733-5963
Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

Senator Harry Brown
(919) 715-3034
Harry.Brown@ncleg.net